Sunday, 24 July 2011 | By: Nicole @ Nicole About TOwn

Covet List # 2



–verb (used with object)

to wish for, especially eagerly: He won the prize they all coveted.

So it's that time again where I feature books that I am drooling over and can't wait to own!

Title: Crave
Author: Melissa Darnell
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication Date: October 25, 2011
ISBN: 9780373210350
Price: $9.99/$11.99 Can.
Pages: 304 pages
Format: Trade paperback
Genre: Fiction, YA, Series

Savannah Colbert has been shunned all her life by the kids of the Clann. And when she undergoes some drastic changes after a strange illness, Savannah learns secrets about the Clann and about herself-dangerous secrets. For the Clann are powerful magic users, and Savannah herself is half Clann and half vampire-a forbidden, unheard of combination. Falling for Clann golden boy Tristan Coleman isn't just a bad idea-it could be deadly if anyone finds out. But her attraction to Tristan-and his to her-isn't something either of them can resist for long.

Title: Daughters of Eve
Author: Lois Duncan
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 3, 2011
ISBN: 9780316098977
Price: $7.99/$8.99 Can.
Pages: 320 pages
Format: Paperback
Genre: Juvenile Fiction / Horror & Ghost Stories

The girls at Modesta High School feel like they're stuck in some anti-feminist time warp-they're faced with sexism at every turn, and they've had enough. Sponsored by their new art teacher, Ms. Stark, they band together to form the Daughters of Eve. It's more that a school club-it's a secret society, a sisterhood. At first, it seems like they are actually changing the way guys at school treat them. But Ms. Stark urges them to take more vindictive action, and it starts to feel more like revenge-brutal revenge. Blinded by their oath of loyalty, the Daughters of Eve become instruments of vengeance. Can one of them break the spell before real tragedy strikes? 

Title: Beautiful Days
Author: Anna Godbersen
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's
Publication Date: September 20, 2011
ISBN: 9780061962684
Price: $17.99/$23.99 Can.
Pages: 416 pages
Format: Hardback
Genre: Juvenile Fiction / Social Issues

In this must-have sequel to Bright Young Things, Cordelia and Letty are small-town girls no longer. Letty is ready at last to chase her Broadway dreams. Cordelia thought she lost her true love, but a chance meeting will change her fortune—and her future. The unflappable flapper Astrid Donal has promised herself to Charlie Grey, Cordelia’s half-brother, but isn’t sure their love is true enough to survive. And a bitter rivalry will ensnare them all in a dangerous feud played out in the speakeasies of Manhattan and on the great lawns of Long Island. As these bright young things live out their beautiful days in the summer of 1929, they find romance and heartbreak, adventure and intrigue, new friends and unexpected rivals.

Fans of The Luxe series, A Great and Terrible Beauty, Martin Scorsese’s hit HBO series Boardwalk Empire, and, of course, The Great Gatsby, will delight in the Jazz Age setting, a time when girls were enjoying newfound freedom and excitement could be found behind any door in Manhattan. 

So that is my Covet List for this week!  What is on your list?


Post a Comment